« Putin Welcomes Shanghai Delegations | Main | Uzbekistan to Join Eurasian Economic Community on January »

CACO and EEC are merging

The Central Asian Cooperation Organization and the Euroasian Economic Community are merging; this was announced during the meeting of the CACO council in St. Petersburg.

The Chairman of CACO, President of Tajikistan Emomali Rakhmonov, presented the decision by the heads of governments on October 6, 2005 at the press conference. Aleksandr Lukashenko, the president of Belarus - which is the only country within EEC and not a member of CACO - mentioned that he doesn't mind if these two organizations merge.

The merger will allow to eliminate duplication of duties and responsibilities, and also to reduce financial and time-related costs. In future, similar merging activity might include other regional organizations such as Single Economic Space.

Prior to meeting in St. Petersburg, the Prime Ministers of CACO and EEC met in Dushanbe. On 27 September, Dushanbe hosted meetings of the prime ministers from the member states of the Central Asian Cooperation Organization (CACO; Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, Tajikistan, and Uzbekistan) and Eurasian Economic Community (EES; Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, and Tajikistan).

Tajik Prime Minister Oqil Oqilov said that the CACO meeting ended with the signing of six documents intended to move Central Asia closer to a common market. Oqilov described the main accomplishment of the EES meeting the signing of a document on customs unification. The newspaper noted that EES member states have managed to unify 62 percent of their customs tariffs. The prime ministers of the EES member states also agreed to form a council on EES fiscal and economic policy, with economy and finance ministers from EES countries as its members.

November 2, 2005 in CACO (RTG) | Permalink


TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference CACO and EEC are merging :


The comments to this entry are closed.